East Anglian Railway Museum

Book Tickets Online

About

For over 50 years the East Anglian Railway Museum has been transporting visitors of all ages back in time to discover the unique history of the region’s railways. The site covers over 10 acres, you can explore our Victorian station, goods shed and signal boxes to see how passengers and freight have been transported over the years.

With displays of steam and diesel locomotives, vintage carriages and wagons there is something to interest everyone. Our heritage centre looks behind the scenes of running the railways with a host of smaller artefacts on display.
Working restoration shed where Volunteers bring the Engines and Rolling stock back to life.
The Museum also includes a railway themed Children's Playground, Picnic Area and an ex-London bus converted into a Children's Play Bus.

The award winning Platform 2 Café will be open every day the museum is open*, serving delicious homemade cakes, afternoon teas, lunches and great coffee!
Picnic Area 
Venue hire for Weddings, Parties, conferences etc, including Training rooms.

Event Days 
Unlimited Train rides, including Mini rail and Model railway layouts
Days out with Thomas (Easter, August Bank Holiday, Half Term , Christmas with Santa)
Spring Vehicle Extravaganza
Summer and Winter Beer Festival
Small Trains Exhibition
Steam Railway Experience Days Available

Based next to the famous Chappel Viaduct in north Essex, we are easily accessible by road and rail and full details can be found by going to www.earm.co.uk    

Book Tickets

Events

Sunday, 12th February 2023 - Sunday, 12th February 2023

Wednesday, 15th February 2023 - Wednesday, 15th February 2023

Sunday, 19th February 2023 - Sunday, 19th February 2023

Wednesday, 5th April 2023 - Wednesday, 5th April 2023

Wednesday, 31st May 2023 - Wednesday, 31st May 2023

Wednesday, 26th July 2023 - Wednesday, 26th July 2023

Saturday, 29th July 2023 - Saturday, 29th July 2023

Wednesday, 2nd August 2023 - Wednesday, 2nd August 2023

Saturday, 5th August 2023 - Saturday, 5th August 2023

Wednesday, 9th August 2023 - Wednesday, 9th August 2023

Saturday, 12th August 2023 - Saturday, 12th August 2023

Wednesday, 16th August 2023 - Wednesday, 16th August 2023

Saturday, 19th August 2023 - Saturday, 19th August 2023

Wednesday, 25th October 2023 - Wednesday, 25th October 2023

A small green Waggon und Maschinenbau Railbus E79963 sits by the platformDiesel Days 2023Unlimited Diesel Rides at the East Anglian Railway Museum
more info

Thursday, 2nd March 2023 - Saturday, 4th March 2023

Chappel Winter Beer Festival 2023The popular beer festival at the East Anglian Railway Museum returns for its winter edition.
more info

Sunday, 2nd April 2023 - Sunday, 2nd April 2023

Sunday, 16th April 2023 - Sunday, 16th April 2023

Saturday, 29th April 2023 - Saturday, 29th April 2023

Sunday, 30th April 2023 - Sunday, 30th April 2023

Monday, 1st May 2023 - Monday, 1st May 2023

Saturday, 27th May 2023 - Saturday, 27th May 2023

Sunday, 6th August 2023 - Sunday, 6th August 2023

Sunday, 13th August 2023 - Sunday, 13th August 2023

Sunday, 20th August 2023 - Sunday, 20th August 2023

Sunday, 22nd October 2023 - Sunday, 22nd October 2023

Steam TrainSteam Days 2023Steam Trains at the East Anglian Railway Museum
more info

Friday, 7th April 2023 - Monday, 10th April 2023

Life size Thomas  at the East Anglian Railway MuseumDay Out With Thomas (Easter 2023)Join Thomas & Friends for family fun at the East Anglian Railway Museum
more info

Monday, 1st May 2023 - Monday, 1st May 2023

Saturday, 27th May 2023 - Saturday, 27th May 2023

Sunday, 18th June 2023 - Sunday, 18th June 2023

Sunday, 2nd July 2023 - Sunday, 2nd July 2023

Sunday, 20th August 2023 - Sunday, 20th August 2023

Drive a Diesel Locomotive 2023
more info

Saturday, 26th August 2023 - Monday, 28th August 2023

Day Out With Thomas (Summer 2023)
more info

Tuesday, 5th September 2023 - Saturday, 9th September 2023

Chappel 2023 Beer Festival
more info

Facilities

Accessibility

  • Disabled access
  • Disabled toilets

Booking & Payment Details

  • Credit cards accepted (with charge)

Catering

  • On-site catering
  • Picnic site

Children

  • Baby changing facilities
  • Children welcome

Groups

  • Facilities for educational visits
  • Facilities for groups

Meeting, Conference & Wedding Facilities

  • Facilities for corporate hospitality

Parking

  • Free Parking

Property Facilities

  • Dogs Accepted
  • Gift shop
  • Public toilets

Site Features

  • Regional Tourist Board Member

Target Markets

  • Accepts groups
  • Coach parties accepted

Map & Directions

Colchester

Road Directions

By Road:Near the impressive Chappel Viaduct. About 15 minutes from Colchester, Halstead and Sudbury, about 30 minutes from Chelmsford, about 40 minutes from Ipswich.Accessible by Public Transport: Chappel station is 0 miles away.

East Anglian Railway Museum

Type:Museum - Transport

Chappel Station, Colchester, Essex, CO6 2DS

Tel: 01206 242524

Fax: 01787 224473

Opening Times

* Open Weekends and Wednesdays (All year)
Museum open 10am - 5pm (Summer) 10 - 4pm (Winter)
On Event Days - unlimited train rides
see www.earm.co.uk for details
Closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day