Refine your search

Type of Event

 

Visit Date

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Event Name

 
 

image for Guided Walk item typeGuided Walk: From Camulodunum to Colchester

  • Essex Tourism Awards

Guided Walk, from 18 Jan 2020

Camulodunum to Colchester

Camulodunum to Colchester

Details

Colchester is Britain’s oldest recorded town, with a story stretching back over 2000 years. Join one of our official town guides on a guided walk and explore the dramatic events that have shaped the town, from the destruction of Roman Camulodunum to the Civil War Siege of 1648 and beyond.

Tours run weekly, led by our experienced and fully qualified town guides, meaning your tour is guaranteed to be well paced, entertaining, and factually accurate.

Book in advance by calling the Visitor Information Centre on 01206 282920 or turn up on the day. Places are limited so advance booking is recommended, particularly during the peak season.

Tours are suitable for all ages, however due to the historic nature of some of the sites patrons with access requirements are advised to contact the Visitor Information Centre in advance and the suitability of the tour can be advised.

Tours start at the Visit Colchester Information Centre, located in Hollytrees Museum in Castle Park.

Restrictions on dog walkers in upper Castle Park mean the tours are not normally suitable for dogs, except assistance dogs.

For large groups, private tours are available which can be run on a theme of your choosing, and at a time convenient for you. Contact the Visitor Information Centre for more information.

Gift shopPublic toiletsWelcome Host

Children welcome

Event details

Dates Times
Sat 18 Jan 2020 11:00
Sat 25 Jan 2020 11:00
Sat 1 Feb 2020
Sat 8 Feb 2020
Sat 15 Feb 2020
Sat 22 Feb 2020
Sat 29 Feb 2020
Sat 7 Mar 2020
Sat 14 Mar 2020
Sat 21 Mar 2020
Sat 28 Mar 2020
Sat 4 Apr 2020
Sat 11 Apr 2020
Sat 18 Apr 2020
Sat 25 Apr 2020
Sat 2 May 2020
Sat 9 May 2020
Sat 16 May 2020
Sat 23 May 2020
Sat 30 May 2020
Sat 6 Jun 2020
Sat 13 Jun 2020
Sat 20 Jun 2020
Sat 27 Jun 2020
Sat 4 Jul 2020
Sat 11 Jul 2020
Sat 18 Jul 2020
Sat 25 Jul 2020
Sat 1 Aug 2020
Sat 8 Aug 2020
Sat 15 Aug 2020
Sat 22 Aug 2020
Sat 29 Aug 2020
Sat 5 Sep 2020
Sat 12 Sep 2020
Sat 19 Sep 2020
Sat 26 Sep 2020
Sat 3 Oct 2020
Sat 10 Oct 2020
Sat 17 Oct 2020
Sat 24 Oct 2020
Sat 31 Oct 2020
Sat 7 Nov 2020
Sat 14 Nov 2020
Sat 21 Nov 2020
Sat 28 Nov 2020

Prices

Cost: Adults: £4:60, Children (aged 5 -15 years) £3:20

Also see

Address

Hollytrees Museum,
Castle Park,
Colchester,
Essex,
CO1 1UG

Directions

See location of Visit Colchester Information Centre on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: TL 999252  Lat: 51.89007 Long: 0.90449

The Visit Colchester Information Centre is located in Hollytrees Museum, located in Castle Park

Accessible by Public Transport: 1 mile from Colchester station

Facilities

  • Gift shopGift shop
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Welcome HostWelcome Host
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome